Oatmeal Cookies with Molasses & Bacon Fat

oatmeal-bacon-fat-cookiesBacon fat. In cookies. Why I have never done this before? It seems so obvious, especially with a cast of characters that is comfortable with the savory side of life: eggs, butter, flour, oats. I’m surely not the first person to think of this, as a quick Google will show you, but it seems it took the never-ending winter of 2015 to push me into Bacon Fat Cookieland.

For that, my friends, we must offer up thanks. Thanks for the 897th snowstorm of the year; thanks for the dead car battery that kept me from the farmer’s market; thanks to my over-stocked pantry, which still offers up oats and flour, sugar and butter, nuts and chocolate, when I haven’t shopped in well over a month. Because these cookies: these cookies are pretty damn good. Bacon-y, yes; but with all of the tang of a molasses cookie, the moist…

View original post 714 more words

发表评论

